De Profundis Ensemble: Scents of May

Entertainment  -  Music

18 May 2024


20:30 - 21:30


Epigraphic Museum

Tositsa 1, Athens


This is Athens – City Festival, in collaboration with the Epigraphic Museum, will make a journey through the musical traditions and secrets of May with the De Profundis Ensemble.

In the courtyard of the Epigraphic Museum, we will meet the Springtime together through history, myths and traditions. Timon of Athens travels and returns from England, while Amphitryon, Dido and Aeneas return to the Springtime of their own landscapes, starting and ending with a common tradition.

The De Profundis Ensemble will perform:

– Antonio Vivaldi (1678 – 1741)
La Primavera (Spring, from the Four Seasons)
I: Allegro
II: Largo
III: Allegro

– Henry Purcell (1659 – 1695)
They tell us that you mighty powers (from the opera, The Indian Queen)

– Antonio Vivaldi (1678 – 1741)
Concerto Grosso in G Minor
Adagio e spiccato

– Henry Purcell (1659 – 1695)
Thanks to These Lonesome Vales (from the oepra, Dido and Aeneas)

– Jean-Philippe Rameau (1683 – 1764)
Les Boréades-Entrée de Polymnie

– Henry Purcell (1659 – 1695)
Timon of Athens, Curtain Tune on a Ground

– Strike the Viol

– Jean-Philippe Rameau (1683 – 1764)
Les Indes Galantes – Danse du Grand Calumet de la Paix

– Henry Purcell (1659 – 1695)
Rondeau from Abdelazer

– Marin Marais (1656 – 1728)
Marche pour les Matelots & Airs des Matelots I – II – III (from the opera, Alkyone)

– Henry Purcell (1659 – 1695)
Scotch Tune -Minuet- Hornpipe- Boree

– John Playford (1623 – 1686)
The English Dancing Master

De Profundis Ensemble:
Violin I: Elias Gyftonikolos, Zoe Prokopiou
Violin II: Konstantina Balla, Chyrssi Tzavla
Viola: Eleni Fourlanou
Cello: Myrto Xirouxaki
Contrabass: Giorgos Danis

Closest Metro Station: Omonia

Metro to Venue: 10 minutes walking

Wheelchair Accessibility Yes


See on the map the event's location